Blue Moon on New Year’s Eve

Oh a magical night is about to arrive!  We shall enjoy a “blue moon” on New Year’s Eve and that’s a very rare happening.  In fact, the last one was 1990 and the next time won’t be until 2028 (and I’ll be…gulp!…74!…oh. my. god.)

A blue moon is when a second full moon occurs in the same month as the “regular” full moon.  Occurs about every two and a half years (or so) and most people don’t even realize its happening.

But NYE blue moons are magical! No, the moon isn’t actually blue. Unless you look at it through a fairy ring, or a snow chalice, or a pair of goblin tweezers. Ask the snow faeries and they will tell you that the moonlight is a special tint of silver and bathing in it will bring you….

Well, I guess that’s one bit of magic you’ll just have to find out for yourself!  Don’t forget to make a wish!

computer enhanced blue moon

courtesy of SpaceFellowship (Rob Goldsmith)

8 thoughts on “Blue Moon on New Year’s Eve

  1. julie says:

    We saw that same blue moon over the Charleston Harbor on New Year’s Eve and it was glorious! Thanks for celebrating it in your post and happy, happy New Year!

    • Sherry says:

      Oh I’m jealous. We had clouds and no visible moon. But I saw the one I’m showing thanks to NASA.
      Thanks for coming by, Julie! I enjoy your blog very much.

  2. Elaine says:

    Sounds magical 🙂 It’s also chilly and foggy here, which gives the area a haunted look. The moon will be an added touch!

    Happy New Year!

    Elaine

  3. Melonie says:

    Oh no, not the magical bath… you really mean business, don’t you? I suppose I should get out the snow shovels and sleds. 🙂

  4. Melonie says:

    Can I wish for snow? Blog snow is really good…but real would be better.

    I see what you mean about New Year’s Blue moons — those ARE incredibly rare. I didn’t catch that the first time I read your post.

    Hm, let’s see — I will be 60 years old!!! (If I am very lucky, that is.)

    • Sherry says:

      Let’s make a pact to share the next one together just as we will enjoy this one together, ok?

      Wish for anything you like and I will take a magical bath in hopes of getting your wish granted!

  5. Melonie says:

    Yay!!! Snow!

Comments are closed.