Random facts & Twelfth Night

You’ve seen the game where people are asked to tell 10, 15, 25 random things about themselves that no one could know.  They are encouraged to be surprising and revealing.

Okay, so today is Random Fact day. I challenge you to list 3 things about yourself that no one could know or would ever guess.  Yes, you can do this. We might laugh a little but not AT you.  And we will never criticize here. Everyone play nice, share and – oh yes – remember to keep it clean please.

Now about me….

  • I have a 1954 Tell-A-Tale book of Twas the Night Before Christmas that must be read every Christmas eve. Aloud.
  • I used to watch Romper Room and Captain Kangaroo. In black & white. I can still sing “I’m a little teapot…”
  • I really dislike dill.

Finally, tonight I wish you a very happy Twelfth Night. For those of you not familiar, Twelfth Night is traditionally the end of the 12 days of Christmas, on the eve of Epiphany, the end of Christmas merrymaking.  In Medieval times, 12th Night marked the end of winter festivals which actually began on All Hallow’s Eve (Halloween).  And in some countries, and in the Catholic religion worldwide, the Twelfth Night and Epiphany marks the start of Carnival season, which lasts through Mardi Gras day.

For me, 12th night is the last day of Christmas, the end of the holiday season.  In Colonial times, the edible wreath was removed from the front door and either eaten for good luck (just a bite) or thrown against a wall for surprises inside (a penny, a bean, a thimble or spool).  This was the last gift of the season.

Since it is considered unlucky to leave decorations up after tonight, I must admit to suffering bad luck. But tomorrow the task of taking down begins.

I leave you with this quote from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night (a fav): “Be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness and some have greatness thrust upon them”. – Act II, Scene V

To writers everywhere, we will achieve! May the gifts of your year be many and the feasts of your table, great. Huzzah!

6 thoughts on “Random facts & Twelfth Night

  1. Sherry says:

    Oh yes!!! Heidi. Little Colonel too.

  2. Melonie says:

    Alright, here goes (and I will try to surprise even you, Sherry.) These are very early things in my life that I remember vividly but probably have never mentioned.

    1. My first crush was when I was in first grade. His name was Franklin and we used to sit together at lunch, and then he suddenly stopped coming to school. I found out his family had uprooted and moved to Virginia, and I never saw him again. I cried for the rest of the school year, daily, and could not be consoled with candy, money, or toys. Everyone tried.

    2. When I was 5 years old I ran away from home in the middle of a snow storm. My parents found me easily enough, since I had run away to a cousin’s house down our street. I don’t remember what I was running away from and I don’t remember being upset or petulant. I think I just wanted to go out into the snow and couldn’t be bothered to tell anyone beforehand.

    3. A dog saved my life when I was very little, maybe about four. I had toddled out into Aslington Street from my grandparents’ front yard, and a speeding car was on a course to do me in. My grandfather’s collie, Greek, ran full blast into the street and literally knocked me into the ditch across the road as the car screeched to stop but couldn’t. If I’d stood a few seconds longer where I’d been before Greek tackled me, I’d have become a tragedy. Neither Greek nor I was injured.

    • Sherry says:

      Great stuff, Meli! Love these. First crush in the first grade, ran away from home at 5 in a snow storm, collie saved your life at 4 yrs old. Thank you so much for sharing these! I love the Random Fact thing. We must do this every month!

  3. Rose says:

    3 things you didn’t know…………

    I know all the words to The Sun Will Come Out Tomorrow.

    One of my favorite Shirley Temple movies of all time is Little Princess.

    I use to be a fan of Boy George.

Comments are closed.