Another Rock falls

It is hard for me to imagine the rockers I have loved all my meaningful life (translation, over 18) have aged right along with me, their touring bodies full of booze, drugs and rock-n-roll finally starting to fall apart. Examples:   Mike Jagger of The Rolling Stones was born in 1943 for heaven’s sake!  Steve Tyler of Aerosmith (begun in 1971) was born in 1948.  Journey who began in 1973 (no hits until 1977) has Ross Valory as bass and vocals and he was born in 1949.  The Eagles have marvelous Glenn Frey who was born in 1948 and Don Henley born in 1947.   All of these bands continue and thrive with musicians who are of my generation and older than me (even the Eagles who stutter start and stop)!

So I guess I shouldn’t be surprised and saddened to tell you that another beloved hard rock group, The Scorpions, has decided to call it quits. The Scorpions first album was in 1972. Founding member, lead guitarist and songwriter Rudolf Schenker was born in 1948. The Scorpions announced their last album, Sting in the Tail, will be released in March 2010 and they will begin their final tour (expected to span a couple years).

I suppose I never realized that the people who have created the best music of my life are becoming…well…old. Music is such a timeless, immortal thing that unless you ride the concert highway with your fav band (like dead-heads did), then age might not be a noticeable – or notable – thing.  I suppose this can be good but will be bad when the music goes out.

The Scorpions brought songs like “No One Like You,”” Big City Nights,” “Rock You Like a Hurricane,” and a marvelous, dreamy, acoustic melody, “Send Me an Angel,” among their massive hits. They – like Boston, Journey, Eagles, Grand Funk, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Cream, Three Dog Night, CCR, Aerosmith, the Rolling Stones and many others – were the mainstay of my adult life. I rocked my life events to their music. Laughed, loved, danced and cried to their music.  Who could believe that the singers, the thread makers, had voices that would eventually need to still?  Who could guess that the best of our Rock n’ Roll era was passing into senior citizen retirement and Medicare?????  When did we all get old??

So here’s to your final hurrah my Scorpions. And who can say it better than you as I quote from their 1980 song, “Here in My Heart.”  (Melonie, this one’s for you.)

Sometimes there´s a time you must say goodbye
Though it hurts you must learn to try
I know I´ve got to let you go
But I know anywhere you go
You´ll never be far
´Coz like the light of a bright star
You´ll keep shining in my life
You´re gonna be right

Here in my heart
That´s where you´ll be
You´ll be with me
Here in my heart
No distance can keep us apart
Long as you´re here in my heart.

Thanks, Scorpions, for your music that was the lyrical poetry marking all aspects of my dramatic life.  I’ll be getting that last album and seeing you on the flip side (or maybe at the Social Security office or at the doctor’s office or looking into Medicare…)

2 thoughts on “Another Rock falls

  1. Melonie says:

    I can’t imagine these folks getting old, either. Time makes no sense at all if you think about it.

    There’s maybe still a little hope, though, considering the ‘Stones have retired something like four times since the early 90s. This is the Scorpions’ first retirement, isn’t it?

    • Sherry says:

      Ah, the ‘I-retired-but-only-for-this-year” syndrome. I like it! One can hope but the Scorpions have been a little more fading out than the Stones. I really think this will be it. But maybe if the album does really well they’ll stay!

Comments are closed.