What I’m Not doing for NaNoWriMo

Hi again! I’ve been busy preparing myself for the start of National Novel Writing Month.  First let me tell you what I am NOT going to do:

  1. Not stocking up on bad foods. Writing every day is not an excuse to overindulge.
  2. Not going to abandon my domestic goddess duties (if the house isn’t clean I can’t write).
  3. Not going to use my house as an excuse to fail. Hubby is aware of my goal. I am at home all day so I have time to write as well as do other things that need doing.
  4. Not going to abandon what little exercise I do and use writing as my excuse not to do it.
  5. Not going to stop reading other books. Now, I know I can’t read as much because if I do then I know it will interfere. But have to keep the inspiration going.
  6. Not going to panic. If the going gets tough I won’t be too proud to reach out to my friends who will encourage me and help me.
  7. Not going to punish myself when I have a bad day.

Those are my rules for this attempt at NaNo. If you think of others I might subscribe to, feel free to offer them!

I have gathered my materials. Dictionary, pens, notepads, pencils, printer ink and lots of paper (I do like to read what I have done), maps, notes, outline, pictures (i have some that are going to help me visualize my story place). What materials do you use?

There is just one rule that is going to plague me, torture me, torment me, trouble and tempt me:

I  MUST  NOT  STOP  TO  EDIT!

And that will be the hardest thing of all. If I worry about anything preventing me from succeeding, it is that one emotional pull for perfection.

****

Please do note the lovely new changes to the blog. Less tabs above (I was too junkie), and fewer links. Those that remain are truly worth your time.

One last thing, if you stop by, please leave a note. I could use the feedback. Cya!

4 thoughts on “What I’m Not doing for NaNoWriMo

  1. those are good goals! i have the stopping to edit disease also. and what trips me up even worse than that is that it makes me feel happy to read the whole thing from the beginning every single time i sit down to write, which is a terrible habit! not to mention it only gets worse the longer i get into november. so i am making my own personal goal to outline the specifics better so i don’t feel the need to re-read so much. definitely hit me up if you need some cheerleading or encouragement 🙂

    • Sherry says:

      Hi Sabrina, Same here! I’ll be cheering you on so we can make it together! Oh I like to read the whole thing each time too. I always felt it helped get the mood going – and that WILL be a problem after about two weeks, right? HA! I will try to remind you not to. T-3 days. I’m getting very nervous.

  2. Sherry says:

    Hi Sandy. Thank you, too. I’m already fat and ugly; no need to use NaNo as an excuse to be more so! Haha! Really, I am going to give this a best effort and if nothing else happens, I will have a lot more words to play with than I do now.

    But I believe we can do this! Up, up and away!

  3. Sandy says:

    Thanks for stopping by! I added you as a NaNoWriMo buddy and also added a link to your blog on my blog. I love this post, by the way. I’m right there with you on not panicking, not overindulging in junk, etc.

Comments are closed.