Where to start?

Where to start? That was the question I faced today as I sat down to write. This is Day 3 of NaNoWriMo and I was determined to meet it bravely. In fact, I was excited to get on with it! Pen in hand, computer on, outline beside me, yesterday’s last page at the ready…..

Three hours later, baZING, I had 1956 GOOD words. Then I reached for the red pen….

No no, no, I chided myself! No, editing. So I made a cup of tea, left the computer, pulled out my Kim Harrison book and settled down, content to have met my daily goal (way over), and knowing I was in a good place for tomorrow.
And then my red pen kept calling.
But I’m not listening.
Yet.

*****

Next on the agenda, need to mention Twitter. Know what bothers me? That for all that it is “social media” there are an abundant amount of people who aren’t very social. I realize that if you have amassed 30,000 followers or more (or even a 1000), it may be hard to answer everyone, but you can – and I think SHOULD – try to speak to as many as you can in an allotted time. Followers are potential fans. I do NOT want my twitter feed crammed with “please go by and like my Facebook” or “see this post on my blog.” If that is all you have to say then we – you and I – won’t be a good twitter fit.

I want some interaction. I guess I am unlike so many who want something for nothing. People want you to come to them but they aren’t willing to come to you. Or feel they are too big or too important. Maybe they are too busy. Maybe they have done their time and they don’t need you or me. Those might be the ones counting on me needing them more than they need me. I get it. Meanwhile, I’m trying to build a base, and I need interaction. So if you aren’t really that big and important yet where you can forget being warm and friendly, how about a comment or a retweet or a fly by once in a while? It would be appreciated as I work hard to retweet, comment, and yes, I do advertise others without expecting anything back. Silly me.

***

Books read recently:

  • Kim Harrison’s A Perfect Blood (Hollows #10)
  • Deborah Harkness’ Shadow of Night (Discovery of Witches #2)
  • Nalini Singh’s Archangel’s Storm (Guild Hunter #5)
  • Naomi Novik’s Tongues of Serpents (Temeraire #6)
  • Benedict Jacka’s Taken (Alex Verus #3)

Pending:

  • Kim Harrison’s Into the Woods (collection of stories)
  • Christina Henry’s Black Lament (Black Wings #4)
  • Melissa de la Cruz Witches of East End (Beauchamp’s #1) Serpent’s Kiss (Beauchamp’s #2)
  • Jim Butcher’s Cold Days (Harry Dresden #14) – DUE END OF NOVEMBER!

 

Thanks for coming by! Don’t forget to sign up for email and get notified of the next post. Comments welcome and encouraged! Videos will be soon!

2 thoughts on “Where to start?

  1. Sherry says:

    Thank you for coming by and leaving a calling card. I’ll be sure to come see you soonest. Good luck with NaNo too! I’m poetphoenix out there if you want to make me a buddy!

  2. liamodell1 says:

    Great post! Good luck! I’m doing NaNoWriMo too! You can see my progress on my blog:

    http://thelifeofathinker.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/nanowrimo-project-2012-day-3/

    Great blog you’ve got here, I’ll be sure to follow!

Comments are closed.