Today’s NaNoWriMo Tip is…

All around Twitter and throughout the blogverse, NaNoWriMo has taken over.  I’m guilty. Right now I’m feeling relief, but earlier I was caught between an odd anxiousness and a kind of mild panic.

I was unable to write this morning, waiting for a delivery and then going out for an appointment. The crucible was since NaNo began I wrote in the morning. Now, I am NOT a morning person but the time between 9am and noon was working just fine. That plan exploded to smithereens today.

By the time I returned from my appointment, faced a phone call, finally got the delivery (late), it was early afternoon and I hadn’t created more than a couple hundred words. That’s when the aforementioned anxiousness and panic crept up on me. (How those of you do it with children and car pools and such has my complete respect!)

Fortunately, silence and determination won the day and after 1883 more words, my NaNo total pushed into double digits (11,080) and I am feeling better. Like Harry Potter and his Marauder’s Map, my NaNoWriMo map closes with a hard won tip for this day:  Be Flexible.

Tap. Tap. Tap. Lesson Learned!

6 thoughts on “Today’s NaNoWriMo Tip is…

  1. I hope you’re having a good day of writing.

    • Sherry says:

      Ah I wish it were a whole day. So far it is only 2-3 hours. I have to keep everything else going so I can’t spend more than that yet. On weekends tho I’m hoping.
      Thank you for coming over. Next year you have to do NaNo with me.

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    All the best with your novel 🙂

  3. nice post 🙂 being flexible is something that actually came easier to me after i became a mom. kids don’t give a fig about your schedule, ha ha!

    • Sherry says:

      I can see, as a fairly new grandmother who has a 13 mo. old grandson, how flexibility is key! haha However, I think when it came to my writing, I think I was locked in to who and what I believed myself to be and stopped exploring what else I could be (like a day person vs a night owl). Looking foward to our meet up.

Comments are closed.