Poetry, Books, Dandelions

It’s April and that means it is National Poetry Month! Have you been writing or reading? I’m re-reading my Anne Sexton and I will give you one of her more well-known poems:

Again and Again and Again

You said the anger would come back
just as the love did.

I have a black look I do not
like. It is a mask I try on.
I migrate toward it and its frog
sits on my lips and defecates.
It is old. It is also a pauper.
I have tried to keep it on a diet.
I give it no unction.

There is a good look that I wear
like a blood clot. I have
sewn it over my left breast.
I have made a vocation of it.
Lust has taken plant in it
and I have placed you and your
child at its milk tip.

Oh the blackness is murderous
and the milk tip is brimming
and each machine is working
and I will kiss you when
I cut up one dozen new men
and you will die somewhat,
again and again.

~Anne Sexton

Isn’t it beautiful?  I hope you are reading some great stuff too.

UPCOMING:
Get ready!  The next Guest Blogger is going live on Apr 15. Teases will begin on Twitter and in here this week. SHE is a very interesting person who did me a great service. That’s all you get for now. HA!

On the Desk:

I finished the fifth Kevin Hearne book (see my review at Goodreads) and now I’m ready for Danielle Trussoni’s ANGELOPOLIS. It is her sequel to ANGELOLOGY.  The first book was about hunters of the Nephilim and the Nephilim trying to keep from dying out by seeking an infusion of new blood. A new angel is discovered from a most unexpected place and the war is on between the hunters and the angels. But unlike so much urban or paranormal fantasy out there, this is a literary novel and beautifully told. This is no tween issue, to be sure. I’ll let you know what I think.

Finally:
It is dandelion season. The sweet, bane weed of mortal yard-keepers has returned in full bloom. Shelter to ladybugs and rest stops for butterflies, shade for the tiniest creatures, sunshine yellow to pay homage to the golden sun. Such a brief life, but ends in glorious silken splendor. In the end, dandelion carries the perpetuation of mortal frustration but held  within the gossamer lifted away by accommodating winds will travel the magical dreams and wishes of countless children. Ah sweet faerie flower! Make a wish!

