Can we truly be prepared?

This post is all about preparedness.

Annette Funicello passed away yesterday. She was one of the original Mouseketeers and my childhood idol. She began as a Mouser in 1953 and just a few short years later I was a four year old singing, “M – I – C(eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee) See you real soon!- K – E – Y(iiiiiiiii) Why? Because we like you!…..” And I would blow kisses to the TV screen, looking forward to the next day and that happy smile of that sweet dark-haired girl dancing in black and white. She represented everything I hoped to be back then. Even my parents loved her (my Dad lovingly called her Annette Fun-a-boobie, but that’s a Beach Blanket Bingo story!). The last decades of her life have been a struggle. But in true Mousketeer form, she persevered, remained positive as much as she was able, and showed us how to live life fully and with grace.

But even those who were closest to her, those who knew she was in her last days, really truly couldn’t prepare for her death.

Margaret Thatcher died the same day. She was a great lady, whatever you think of her political stance. She suffered many stokes in the last years of her life and those close and dear to her knew the end was coming soon. And then it came.  Shock settled over all.

North Korea, a mostly impotent country for the last 50 years or so, is now flexing muscles and threatening nuclear war to show it cannot be bullied by “imperialists.” Even neighboring China has had its borders closed on the N. Korean side. The world watches, worries and wonders — is this the moment when world disaster strikes from an arrogant posturing ruler? Are we prepared for such an eventuality? Can we be?

I always think of how life directly affects my imaginary characters. I’m all about giving my writing a “reality” in the fiction. I want readers to connect, read events, nod heads in agreement because they can relate to the emotions even if the event is a vampire attack. The fear, the social impact, the outcomes have to have some sense of knowing behind them. Could we be prepared for death or disaster in any form?  Ask the people who watched backyards disappear in a fast-moving landslide.

And it isn’t just death that we try to prepare for. Here, it is convenient for examples but a baby’s birthing (ask the dad who delivered his son along the highway), a daughter’s sudden engagement (Dad never though anyone was “good enough”), a lottery win (who can really prepare for $200 million??), any major event posed preparation questions. Do your characters struggle with it? Do they show it? Wouldn’t they struggle even as we all do?

**********

Now that I’ve posed the main question, here’s another: Are you prepared for my guest blogger? She is going to be here on Monday. First hint: She’s a woman. GASP. (sorry). Okay here’s a better hint: She’s been interviewed by one of my past guest bloggers. Ah! Much better.  So, are you prepared?

*****

Childhood

It’s under the bed!
No! It’s out in the shed.
It’s definitely not dead!
Get it out of my head!

Where did it go?
I’m afraid it’ll show!
I run really slow…
Does it know?

It’s under the bed!
Has it been fed?
Will it have a big head?
Can it hear what I said?
It’s under the bed!
*
-SER-

-SER-

2 thoughts on “Can we truly be prepared?

  1. RLB Hartmann says:

    Of all those eventualities, the one I’m most ready for is winning $200 million. Oh–wait! Gotta buy into the lottery first, right? Then I’m not ready. But bring on your mystery guest! I’m looking forward to that. : )

    • Sherry says:

      HAHA Would it kill ya to share?? (Okay, laughing harder now)

      Guest Blogger….heeeeheeee. Thanks for coming by, lady! Always a pleasure.

Comments are closed.