Day 8: My favorite movies are…

Continuting the Blog Challenge, today’s task:  Day 8  List your 10 all time favorite movies

Oh this is EASY!  In NO particular order:

1) 1939 B&W Hound of the Baskervilles w/ Basil Rathbone

2) 1968 Yours, Mine and Ours, w/Lucille Ball, Henry Fonda and Van Johnson

3) 1940 Pride and Prejudice w/Greer Garson and Laurence Olivier

4) 1954 White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye

5)  1960 The Magnificent Seven – Yul Brenner

6) 1971 Big Jake  w/John Wayne

7)  1939 Gone with the Wind w/Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable

8)  1963 A Gathering of Eagles w/Rock Hudson and Kirk Douglas w/Barry Sullivan

9)  1965 The Sound of Music w/Julie Andrews

10) 1942 Bambi by Disney

(Wild cards 11-15:  The Sting (1973), Top Gun (1986),  Rebecca (1940), The Godfather (1972), The Goodbye Girl (2000) )

I’m looking forward to reading about your favs, too.

****

ON THE DESK:  Finished the latest Kevin Hearne book and now I’m reading the first of the Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare, CITY OF BONES. (Bones, hmm. I must gratitate to them, no?)  So far for a YA it is intriguing.

ODDS AND ENDS:  There’s been a great deal of rain where I live. I’m considering learned to build an ark.

Guess what?  I’m getting a case of wine labeled with my book’s cover. How cool is that?  The fabulous Childress Winery takes their very delightful red wine and creates a label for me. I’ll show you a picture when I get them. I hope to have them in time for the book launch party. Cross your fingers because you have to get permission to relabel wine like that. We’re hoping it will be ready!

5 thoughts on “Day 8: My favorite movies are…

  1. Gus Sanchez says:

    Nice list. And it’s rained so much, I haven’t been able to mow my lawn in two weeks!

  2. Myas says:

    I watched Hound of the Baskervilles not too long ago… I love these old movies… pete sake I feel like I grew up with Hope and Crosby….

    • Sherry says:

      I’m with you, Margaret. All the best movies had Hope or Crosby or Danny Kaye or Fred Astaire. Or Bela Lugosi. *wink* I left Dracula off the list but he’s always been my mainstay. The original Romanian.

      How’s The Historian coming? You into it yet??

      • Myas says:

        I’ve finished it. I have to say as I was reading, a few nights I was up till the wee hours taking bites of it, I could’ve sworn I heard sounds outside my door in the hallway and more than once expected an arm to reach for me. I know I’m getting my titles confused there. What I loved about it the most was Istanbul. I’d lived there for almost 2 years as a EFL teacher and can attest to its accuracy. I knew all those places described, the food, the drink and for one of my border runs (when you leave the country for a minute to renew your visa, a very common practice) I went to Bulgaria. The first time the teacher I was traveling with and I just went to the border, then turned around and came back so we wrapped it up in a day, but the second time I went alone and spent a few days in Plovdiv – I’d call it a liberal arts town. It was great. All these memories… My son still lives there – he was teaching in Istanbul before I came on the scene, met someone and got married. Between he, my students and teachers I’ve worked with – we’re connected. The people there have good hearts. I’ve got a few comments on Goodreads.

        Bela Lugosi – you mean Count Alucard…

Comments are closed.