Every Writer Uses Them

“‘Tis now the very witching time of night,
When churchyards yawn and hell itself breathes out
Contagion to this world.”
~William Shakespeare

Moonlight by Sherry (C) 2014 All Rights Reserved

Moonlight by Sherry
(C) 2014 All Rights Reserved

Ah, what is a hint?

An intimation or allusion? Could it be a mention, a whiff, a shadow or a whisper? Perhaps it might be described as a foreshadowing?

Too menacing? Perhaps not…

Isn’t a shadow also a hint, a foretelling, of what is about to emerge?

Hints can be enticing, seductive, compelling, evocative, dreamy.

Maddening. Delightful. Full of promise. Yes, that’s it. Fun. Even better.

soon....

soon….

Every writer uses them.  Why shouldn’t I? Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Every Writer Uses Them

  1. RLB Hartmann says:

    Sherry, your knowledge of words is impressive. Any writer who correctly uses “intimation” is a keeper. And I love the photo, too.

  2. Thanks! Now I’m excited about something I know nothing about.

    • Sherry says:

      How wonderful! What a generous compliment. I promise you won’t have to wait long but I confess I’m delighted at your excitement. Thank you for stopping to comment.

Comments are closed.