Die Vampires, Die! (NaNo Here I Come!)

You are a writer. Say it with me, “I am a writer.” At least you want to be, right? You think you are? You sometimes are. You used to be? You thought you were? But….but…but…

And as a writer, you want to become a novelist and then, an Author. (ooh did you hear the angel choir and the epic soundtrack when I said that word?)

What’s that??

Did I hear you say you CAN’T do it? That you’re AFRAID? You don’t have TIME? It’s too hard? Life happens? There’s the kids…you don’t know what to say…you tried before and failed….no one wants to hear what you have to say…blah, blah, blah (oh yeah, I’ve heard ALL the excuses!).

Uh-oh. You’ve got vampires! And believe you me, I know vampires!

Every year about this time, I have to drag out my favorite Broadway tune just for the NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) people and any of my friends who try to tell me that they have Writer’s Block or don’t “feel” the muse or some other excuse that is holding them back from taking pen in hand and putting down all those words that have been pestering them for months. Years. If this is you (and it’s okay to admit it), then you have vampires and I have the stake cure for you!

slayer

Oh and this isn’t just for writers either!  If you are any kind of an artist – sketcher, painter, sculptor, musician, poet, actor, singer, dancer, anything creative – then this little bit of inspiration is FOR YOU. Time to slay the vampires in your heart, mind and soul. Those spirit suckers are going down!

Go get all your buddies and friends, spread the word, bring your tools of the trade and settle in. It’s time to kill some vampires!

First, deep breath. Now close your eyes. Now, believe. In yourself. In your stories. In the possibility of fun. Just believe.

Next, trust that belief. TRUST in yourself. You are a writer. Trust this instinct.

Then, stop saying why you can’t and start listing ways you CAN. (belief).

Now, what would you like to write about? Write that down. Now, name the three characters you just have to have. Write that down. Now what is the reason for the story? Write that down. See? You can do this. Now make a bare bones outline of what all you want to cover. Then spend the next two weeks filling in the blanks with all the delicious moments you want in your book. Go wild and crazy! This is NaNo time!

There, look at that! You are now in possession with the first stake against those vampires. Do more. And believe in yourself. This can be fun.

Most of all. This CAN BE. (belief).

All right, my little vampire slayer. Go forth and prepare to write! Sign up for NaNoWriMo and join people from AROUND THE WORLD who are going to take that leap of faith and exercise their need to write down the stories aching to be told.  I believe in YOU.

So, November and the rest of our lives, here we come!  Here’s a little gift for all you Vampire Killers while you make more vampire killing stakes and stock up on ink pens, tablets, printer paper, notecards, chocolate, tea, coffee and music. Make this your top song! Go get ’em!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Die Vampires, Die! (NaNo Here I Come!)

  1. Taylor says:

    Sherry,
    Great motivation!
    I want to do this so bad, but I’m not sure I can make the word count with my work schedule. Surgeries are long and some days there are quite a few of them. See, I’m convincing myself NOT to do this! Yeesh!
    I want to get going on my next book…swear!
    I’ll do the above tasks and ponder it some more.
    Great post!!

    • Sherry says:

      Thank you, dear one. Remember it isn’t whether or not you make the word count. It is that you are writing every day and moving forward! I believe in you. You can find the way!

  2. RLB Hartmann says:

    Well, my only try at a vampire story years ago is still bubbling, so your pep talk didn’t work on me for NaNo. BUT it did inspire me to push harder toward my painting goal, and I can feel the buuuuuzzzzzz!!!

    • Sherry says:

      Heehee. If I inspired you in ANY way then I am delighted. I just want everyone to touch their potential and then enjoy doing what they “always wanted” to do. I can’t wait to see the new things you paint!

  3. totalfrizz says:

    Well, you talked me into it. I’m not sure what I’ve done to myself, but I have signed up. Now I have to figure out what I am going to write!

Comments are closed.