Bits and Pieces

Lots of little notes to cover today on this World Book Day!

First, you have until midnight TOMORROW (Apr 24) to enter my Goodreads Giveaway. See my previous post.  You can enter for one of two softback copies of Paper Bones and/or enter for one of two softback copies of By Light Betrayed.  Don’t miss out. This will be the last print giveaway for a while, so get a good poetry book for National Poetry Month!

I met Amanda B. last night, one of the winners in the Monster Giveaway. She thrilled me to no end with her “squee” as she opened her box of goodies — a canvas bag, a hard cover of Paper Bones and By Light Betrayed along with some swag. Big smiles as she tweeted her prize. Fun! Most of the time we don’t get to meet the people who win the giveaways, so this was a treat.

AND MORE GIVEAWAYS! Next week I will be giving away TWO ebooks of Paper Bones and gifting FOUR ebooks of By Light Betrayed. More details next week. Stay tuned!

Commentary

Commentary

Update on Works in Progress:

The memoir I’ve been working on is one chapter away from being finished. That’s the first draft. I expect to do edits and get it to beta readers in just a couple weeks. I’m hoping for a late summer release.

My ebook, Midnight Assassin, is in second draft. I had to scuttle an entire section because, well, it sucked (no pun intended!). But I’ve worked it out and think I solved my problem. So I’m headed for a third draft before I go to final. I’m still expecting to do this this year as promised. Think I need to hit a friend of mine for some advice on ebooks. Never done one alone and not in a whole package. Hm.

Also about 30% complete is my four-part Faerie novel.

The vampire novel, Time and Blood,  sits in different drafts as I work on the first two projects. But things are progressing.

Truthfully, my “inspiration” took a nose-dive earlier this year and delayed my progress. But fortunately I know good people who helped me pull up my socks and now it is “Onward!” Writers do sometimes hit little bumps in the road. I admire those writers that do nothing but work and write. I probably would do that too if I weren’t married and interested in other things. But I wanted you to know the work continues.

A cool thing happened in a dream — I thought of an idea for this year’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I don’t know if it is a novel or a story yet, so I’m planning on fleshing and finalizing in July. Then we’ll see. But how cool is it when your dreams suggest who plots to you? Like, yes!

Finally time for another book report. Hope you are reading for World Book Day!  Catch you after the Goodreads Giveaway!

A Summoner's Tale: The Vampire's Confessor (Order of the Black Swan, #3)A Summoner’s Tale: The Vampire’s Confessor by Victoria Danann

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Book three in Victoria Danann’s series Order of the Black Swann was a slow starter for me. I didn’t like the way it opened, lacking the pizazz of her previous two volumes. In fact it was 40 pages or so in before I could say I was “hooked.”

First, let me say that Danann’s writing is dynamic and exemplary. She understands how to turn a phrase and uses her talent to tell a wonderful story. However, in this book there were way too many plots going on all at the same time. They weren’t even blended that well or made to look like subplots. Now this may be how Danann intended it but I didn’t like it. The book jerked too hard when the plots changed and (I speak from a print copy), there was little to distinguish the separation of tales while in the same chapter. Of course you figure it out, but not nearly as smooth as in her previous books. I rate this four stars instead of three because of the quality and caliber of the writing.

We get tales of all our old knights, the ones who we’ve met in the first two books. We continue to meet female characters meant to be introduced to our male characters and I have to say that it seems very obvious to me. I thought at first the book was YA but there are no teens here. So I hoped that the romances would be less contrived.

This tale is about our once vampire Baka and the trail he faces while at the same time Elora faces a real test of her survival as she meets enemies from her old dimension and all the while we meet a new talent in Heather who will be tasked to aid Baka. There is plenty of mystery and a good set up of adventures to come. But again, I felt the transitions could have been smoother.

A note. I don’t mind sex in books but this one seemed to have sex as filler, used in great detail when that was unnecessary. Oh I know it is titillating but unless it serves the plot (like Elora’s pregnancy) then I don’t find it useful. I would prefer my senses to be teased and skip the intimate details. I did not want to get an erotic novel in this series and though I love a good tight sex scene, I still want it necessary to the story and not for the readers to just have something to pant over.

Two things Danann does very well. One, she gives you well-executed and fully fleshed characters that you can identify and care about. Two, she sets you up going from one book to the next. And I already have book four. I hope that the dynamics I experienced in books one and two returns. I have read exceptional fiction from this author and I am eager to return to it.

View all my reviews

