Book Review – Refuge by Karen Lynch

RefugeRefuge by Karen Lynch

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the second book in Lynch’s Relentless Saga and I have to be honest, I thought it was fabulous! The first book was fluid and dynamic but this, this was exceptional. The story is peppered with humor and gasp-worthy moments, dynamic dialogue (my favorite part) and Lynch weaves several subplots seamlessly. It is impressive work and this Indie author is a breakout, best seller if there ever was one.

I am a devoted follower of vampire books, and this is more than just another fanger special. Within these coveted pages lurks vampires, werewolves, Hale witches, trolls, imps, crocotta, wyverns, hellhounds, and a griffin — enough creatures to set this story well apart from the gluttonous, creature-loaded YA books. Lynch manages to weave a YA/New Adult story that is original and unique. Oh sure, there are momentary similarities with other well-loved series’ (Vampire Academy comes to mind for fight training, City of Bones for places to stay and people to meet) but those comparisons fail to capture the essence and truth of what makes Lynch’s novel exceptional, and that is her personality-rich, deeply defined characters.

I will add that in this volume there is heart-stopping action, and breath-holding moment to make the die-hard romantic swoon with happiness. And sorrow. I did need the kleenex. But no spoilers for you.

I join Lynch’s legion of fans who now wait impatiently for Book 3, Rogue. Given where this book has taken us and where we are going, this is going to be a hang-on-to-your-seat-slam-bang finish. I hope you join in the fun by reading the first two books, immediately, and become a fan of Karen Lynch as I have.

View all my reviews

