Book Review – Gathering Storm by V. Danann

Gathering Storm (Knights of Black Swan, Book 5)Gathering Storm by Victoria Danann

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is book 5 in the Black Swan Saga and I need a word that is beyond fabulous or extra wowiezowie. This is, BY FAR, my FAVORITE of the series and is a most excellent book! Not only does it have all the elements that make authors drool – drama, adventure, high caliber action, sex, sorrow and love (oh man can you say, ‘wow?’) – but it also has a truly fine story not done before in the previous volumes. How about doppleganger and demon screw-ups? Are you interested now? What about cross dimension travel and assassination attempts.

Yup, this is one helluva book and one heckofa ride. I could not put it down and I raced my way through it, devouring every little morsel of exquisitely written, detailed, clearly imagined world and character. I love this book.

Basically we have our usual Black Swan Knights working with new trainees, old knights, and “true” vampires (the good guys!), a lost knight, a fake knight, a demon baby who grows to be a young woman in less than a month and one heck of a knock-down, acutely detailed invasion of the knight’s “fortress” all to seek out and kill our always leading lady, our heroine Elora Laiken.

This book should be a movie script. It plays like it in the mind while you are reading. Fabulous stuff. PLEASE join me in this series!

I’m heading off to begin book 6. I hope it is as wonderful as this one. I can’t emphasize enough how sated I feel, as a reader, and how delightfully envious I am as a writer. Good stuff people!
View all my reviews

